Brooks Awarded Beddow Posthumously

The late Randy Brooks of Anniston was named the 2013 recipient of the Roderick
Beddow Award at ACDLA's 2013 Summer Seminar in Panama City, Florida on May 3, 2013. The award is ACDLA's highest honor and is given to a Alabama criminal defense lawyer for a lifetime of achievements in the field of criminal defense.

Presenting tributes to Randy were his friends and peers,  Dave Johnston and Bill Broome. Accepting the hand painted tribute was Randy's wife, Patsy. Special thanks to Dave Johnston, Bill Broome and Tom Harmon for assisting in the presentation.

Randy, ACDLA misses you and will remember you always for your contributions to
this organization and to this profession.

ACDLA Recognizes Outstanding Criminal Defense Work

MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA…The Alabama Criminal Defense Lawyers Association (ACDLA), at its 2012 Summer Seminar annual awards banquet in Pensacola Beach, FL, awarded its highest honor, the Roderick Beddow Award to Birmingham criminal defense lawyer, David Luker.

Mr. Luker has been a part of ACDLA since its inception in 1981. His devotion as an advocate of the improvement of the criminal justice system is undeniable and he has readily devoted his time in speaking at continuing legal education seminars, and teaching at the Birmingham School of Law.  He fully understands the importance of what criminal defense lawyers do in representing all of those who are accused of crime, including those who are unable to pay for our services.

David Luker is very much like Mr. Beddow, who was a zealous advocate for his client. He is dedicated to mentoring new lawyers, and serves the bar through his committees.  Known for his high profile cases, his client list also includes Thomas Blanton, Jr. and Eric Rudolph, among a few.

He is a member of the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (NACDL), ACDLA and is a co-founder and charter member of the Greater Birmingham Criminal Defense Lawyers Association.  

The Roderick Beddow Award is given each year to a member of ACDLA in recognition of a career of criminal defense work.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Receiving Merit Awards for outstanding success in criminal cases were:
Bruce Gardner, Huntsville
Jake Watson and Brian White, Huntsville
Michael Hanle, Brett Bloomston and Joe Basgier, III, Birmingham
John Lentine, Birmingham
Jeff Bramer, Birmingham
Bill Clark, David McKnight, Jim Parkman, Birmingham,
Tommy Goggans, Jeff Duffey, and Ron Wise, Montgomery
Dennis Knizley, Mobile
Paul Young, Enterprise and J. David Robinson, Daleville
Dustin Fowler, Dothan
Ross Massey, Tuscaloosa
Jason Neff, Tuscaloosa
Gar Blume Tuscaloosa
Walt Buttram, Brandy Pearson & Scott Stewart, Gadsden
Receiving Presidents Awards for outstanding contributions to ACDLA this past year:
Bill Broome, Anniston
Hays Webb, Tuscaloosa
Kathryn King, Cullman
Jeff Austin, Florence
Patrick Mahaney, Montgomery
Joel Sogol, Tuscaloosa
Linda Coats, Huntsville
Bill Blanchard, Montgomery
Joe Van Heest, Tuscaloosa
Paul Young, Enterprise
Ann Cooper, Montgomery